Accessibility Tools

Four New Cabinet Ministers were sworn in this morning, while six had changes made to their portfolio, as Premier Heather Stefanson shuffled her cabinet. Over the past few months, several MLAs, including five cabinet ministers, have resigned or announced they won't seek re-election this October.

Among the MLAs that aren't running again, there were four current Cabinet Ministers including Deputy Premier Cliff Cullen, Municipal Relations Minister Eileen Clarke, Government Services Minister Reg Helwer, and Minister of Indigenous Reconciliation and Northern Relations Alan Lagimodiere.

Finance Minister Cameron Friesen announced last week that he is resigning to run for a seat in the House of Commons. He'll be running in the Portage-Lisgar riding which is currently held by Candice Bergen, who announced in the fall that she won't be seeking re-election.

The newly appointed ministers are:

  • MLA for Seine River Janice Morley-Lecomte: Minister of Mental Health and Community Wellness
  • MLA for Radisson James Reitsma: Minister of Consumer Protection of Government Service
  • MLA for Fort Whyte Obby Khan: Minister of Sport, Culture, and Heritage
  • MLA for Kirkfield Park Kevin Klein: Minister of Environment and Climate

The following ministers had changes made to their portfolios:

  • MLA for Spruce Woods Deputy Premier Cliff Cullen: Minister of Finance
  • MLA for Agassiz Eileen Clarke: Minister of Indigenous Reconciliation and Northern Relations
  • MLA for Red River North Jeff Wharton: Minister of Economic Development, Investment, and Trade
  • MLA for Fort Richmond Sarah Guillemard: Minister of Advanced Education and Training
  • MLA for Waverley Jon Reyes: Minister of Labour and Immigration
  • MLA for Lagimodière Andrew Smith: Minister of Municipal Relations